Stage pilote sur les centres d’operations d’urgence (COU)

Stage pilote sur les centres d’operations d’urgence (COU)

Prochaines formations

Course Duration: 13 MAI – 17 MAI 2019
Application Date: - Apr 20, 2019
Course Date:
Course Fee: Cette formation est soutenue par le KAIPTC et l’USAFRICOM. Les candidats désignés devront entrer en contact avec le Directeur du stage pour coordonner leur voyage au KAIPTC. Les stagiaires qui auront besoin d’un visa à l’arrivée se chargeront eux-mêmes de leurs frais de visa.
Terms and Conditions:
Voir description

INTRODUCTION

Le Centre International Kofi Annan de Formation au Maintien de la Paix propose une formation d’une semaine sur les Centres d’opérations d’urgence (COU) à un nombre limité de spécialistes de la gestion des catastrophes, de personnes formées à la gestion des catastrophes, de personnel de police et militaire. Cette formation en gestion des catastrophes reflète l’initiative du KAIPTC d’élaborer des formations en gestion des catastrophes en vue de soutenir les responsables de gestion de catastrophes d’Afrique de l’Ouest et d’encourager le développement professionnel dans les secteurs civil, militaire et de sécurité. Cela va dans le sens du renforcement des capacités des responsables des catastrophes à l’appui du mécanisme d’intervention humanitaire de la CEDEAO (EHRM).
L’objectif de cette formation pilote, qui se tient en français, est d’évaluer le matériel de l’instructeur et du stagiaire, de déterminer l’efficacité de l’enseignement et de tester les calendriers et programmes de formations en vue de peaufiner le matériel. La formation pilote s’étend sur une durée de cinq (5) jours (du 13 au 17 mai 2019), au cours de laquelle il sera demandé aux stagiaires de donner leur avis sur le matériel pédagogique et leurs expériences.

BUT DU STAGE

Ce stage de formation a pour but de doter les spécialistes de la gestion des catastrophes d’une compréhension de base du rôle et des fonctions des centres d’opérations d’urgence (COU); et de la capacité de planifier des actions et des stratégies d’intervention pour divers scénarios de catastrophes.

DESCRIPTION DU STAGE

Cette formation d’une semaine se déroulera en français sous la forme de présentations interactives, d’exercices en petits groupes et d’un exercice basé sur des scénarios à la fin de la formation.

OBJECTIFS DU STAGE

Ce stage vise à habiliter les spécialistes de la gestion des catastrophes à:

  • Faire preuve de connaissances de base et de capacités d’expliquer le rôle et les fonctions d’un centre d’opérations d’urgence des autorités infranationales dans les opérations d’intervention en cas de catastrophe.
  • Comprendre la structure et les fonctions d’un Centre d’opérations d’urgence par rapport à un Système de commandement des interventions (SCI).
  • Comprendre comment le Centre d’opérations d’urgence et le Système de commandement des interventions des autorités infranationales pourraient collaborer au mieux lors d’opérations d’intervention en cas de catastrophe de grande envergure ou complexes.
  • Identifier et discuter des principaux facteurs à prendre en compte lors de la création d’un centre d’opérations d’urgence des autorités infranationales (à savoir la sélection du site, l’aménagement intérieur et extérieur, les besoins en communication, la dotation en personnel et la structure organisationnelle) et sa préparation pour mener des opérations d’intervention en cas de catastrophes.
  • Identifier les domaines de responsabilité des éléments du personnel des centres d’opérations d’urgence lors d’une intervention de grande envergure ou complexe, ainsi que la répartition d’une journée type du centre d’opérations d’urgence.
  • Comprendre les quatre étapes du “cycle de vie d’un incident des centres d’opérations d’urgence”.

RESULTATS ESCOMPTES

À la fin de cette formation, les stagiaires devraient être en mesure de:

  • Décrire le rôle et les fonctions de la mission au sein d’un centre d’opérations d’urgence infranationale, ainsi que les partenaires de mission d’un COU
  • Faire preuve de connaissances de base et de capacités d’expliquer le rôle et les fonctions d’un centre d’opérations d’urgence des autorités infranationales dans les opérations d’intervention en cas de catastrophe.
  • Comprendre l’objectif, les caractéristiques et les structures d’un Système de commandement des interventions (SCI), y compris le rôle du commandant des opérations en cas d’incident, et faire la distinction entre les types d’incidents.
  • Expliquer comment le Centre d’opérations d’urgence et le Système de commandement des interventions des autorités infranationales pourraient collaborer au mieux lors d’opérations d’intervention en cas de catastrophe de grande envergure ou complexes, sans oublier le Centre d’opérations d’urgence national (COUN).
  • Décrire l’aménagement d’un COU, ainsi que les considérations relatives au choix de l’emplacement approprié d’un COU, y compris un site de relève.
  • Décrire les tâches principales de chaque étape du cycle de vie d’un incident des centres d’opérations d’urgence, notamment l’étape de pré-activation, l’étape d’activation, l’étape de désactivation et l’évaluation post-activation.

CONTENU DU STAGE

Cette formation traitera des modules suivants:

  • Module 1: Rôles, fonctions et partenaires de la mission des COU.
  • Module 2: Partenariats et coordination.
  • Module 3: Construire et préparer le COU.
  • Module 4: Activation et fonctionnement du COU.

METHODOLOGIE

La méthode d’apprentissage par résolution de problèmes sera employée pour dispenser cette formation. Les stagiaires joueront ainsi un rôle actif sous la supervision d’une équipe d’animateurs expérimentés. Le stage sera ainsi offert au moyen d’une combinaison d’outils tels que des conférences, des études de cas, des travaux en petits groupes, des exercices de simulation. La langue d’instruction sera le français.

GROUPE CIBLE

Cette formation pilote sur les COU s’adresse principalement aux spécialistes de la gestion des catastrophes, aux personnes qui se préparent à assumer un rôle dans le domaine de la gestion des catastrophes, à la police et au personnel militaire. Les agences de gestion des catastrophes des pays participants devront tenir compte, autant que possible, de l’équilibre entre les sexes lors de la sélection des candidats.

FRAIS DE FORMATION

Cette formation est soutenue par le KAIPTC et l’USAFRICOM. Les candidats désignés devront entrer en contact avec le Directeur du stage pour coordonner leur voyage au KAIPTC. Les stagiaires qui auront besoin d’un visa à l’arrivée se chargeront eux-mêmes de leurs frais de visa.

INFORMATIONS PERTINENTES

Il faut aussi prendre en considération les éléments suivants:

  • La formation se déroulera UNIQUEMENT en français.
  • La formation est ouverte à un maximum de 15 stagiaires.
  • Tout stagiaire devra se souscrire à une couverture d’assurance santé suffisante avant d’arriver au Centre. Le KAIPTC ne supportera pas les frais liés à une maladie ou un accident.

MODALITES D’INSCRIPTION

Les agences de gestion des catastrophes des pays sélectionnés désigneront leurs candidats pour cette formation. Les personnes désignées devront envoyer leur curriculum vitae au Directeur du stage. Le personnel militaire devra également indiquer le lieu et le poste actuellement occupés. En plus du curriculum vitae, les stagiaires devront envoyer la page des données biologiques de leur passeport.

CONTACTS

Ci-dessous les coordonnées du Directeur de stage:

Lt-Col Dela Klutse
Directeur de stage

Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre
Tél +233-302-718200 – Ext 2038
Portable +233 -262650279/+233-208725007
E-mail:
edemdela@yahoo.co.uk / dela.klutse@kaiptc.org

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la formation, les stagiaires sélectionnés pourront également contacter la Dr. Anna Mensah au numéro +233243360685 ou à l’adresse e-mail Anna.Mensah@kaiptc.org.

Emergency Operation Centre French Pilot Course

Emergency Operation Centre French Pilot Course

Upcoming

Course Duration: 13 – 17 MAY 2019
Application Date: - Apr 20, 2019
Course Date:
Course Fee: This course is sponsored by KAIPTC and USAFRICOM. Nominated participants will contact the Course Director to coordinate their travel arrangement to KAIPTC. Participants who will require visa on arrival will be responsible for their visa fees.
Terms and Conditions:
See description

INTRODUCTION

The Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre is offering a one week French pilot course in Emergency Operation Centre (EOC) to limited number of disaster management practitioners, persons training to enter into a disaster management role, police personnel and military participants. This disaster management course reflects KAIPTC’s initiative in developing disaster management courses in support of West African disaster managers and their professional development in the civilian and security sectors. This is in line with building the capacity of disaster managers in support of the ECOWAS Humanitarian Response Mechanism (EHRM).

The focus of the EOC French pilot course is to evaluate instructor and participant materials, determine the effectiveness of the instruction, and test course timings and agenda to make final changes to the material. The pilot course will take five days (13-17 May 2019), during which time facilitators will teach the course to selected participants. Participants will be requested to give feedback on course material and their experiences during the course.

COURSE AIM

The course is designed to provide disaster management professionals with a basic understanding of the role and functions of the Emergency Operation Centre (EOC); and the ability to plan response actions and strategies for various disaster scenarios.

COURSE DESCRIPTION

4. The one-week pilot course will be conducted in French through a combination of interactive presentations, small exercises, and a scenario-based exercise to conclude the course.

COURSE OBJECTIVES

The course seeks to enable disaster management practitioners to:

  • Demonstrate basic knowledge, and be able to explain the role and functions of a sub-national government EOC in disaster response operations.
  • Understand the structure and functions of the EOC in relation to the Incident Command System ICS.
  • Appreciate how the sub-national government EOC and Incident Command can best collaborate during large/complex disaster response operations.
  • Identify and discuss the major considerations in establishing a sub-national government EOC (to include site selection, interior and exterior design, communications needs, staffing, and organizational design) and preparing it to conduct disaster response operations.
  • Identify responsibility areas of EOC staff elements during a large/complex response, as well as the breakdown of a typical EOC day.
  • Comprehend the four stages of the “EOC Incident Life Cycle”

EXPECTED OUTCOMES

On completion of the course, participants should be able to:

  • Describe the role and mission functions within a sub-national EOC, as well as mission partners of an EOC
  • Demonstrate basic knowledge, and be able to explain the role and functions of a sub-national government EOC in disaster response operations.
  • Recognize the purpose, characteristics, and structures of an Incident Command System (ICS), including the role of the Incident Commander in a disaster response, as well as differentiate types of incidents.
  • Explain how the sub-national government EOC and Incident Command can best collaborate during large/complex disaster response operations, including with the National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC).
  • Describe the design of an EOC as well as considerations for choosing a suitable EOC location, including an alternate site
  • Describe the key tasks in each stage of the EOC Incident Lifecycle including the Pre-Activation stage, Activation stage, De-Activation stage, and Post-Activation Evaluation stage.

COURSE CONTENT

The course will cover the following modules:

  • Module 1: Role, Functions, and Mission Partners of the EOC.
  • Module 2: Partnerships and Coordination.
  • Module 3: Building and Preparing the EOC.
  • Module 4: Activating and Operating the EOC

METHODOLOGY

The problem-based learning approach will be used in the delivery of the course. Participants will play active roles in the learning process under the supervised guidance of a team of experienced facilitators. The course content will thus be delivered using a combination of tools such as; lectures, case studies, small group work exercises and simulation among others. The pilot course will be conducted in French.

TARGET GROUP

The principal target audience for the EOC pilot course will be predominantly disaster management practitioners, persons preparing to enter into a disaster management role, police and military personnel. Disaster Management Agencies of participating countries should strive to achieve gender balance of selected participants as much as possible.

COURSE FEES

This course is sponsored by KAIPTC and USAFRICOM. Nominated participants will contact the Course Director to coordinate their travel arrangement to KAIPTC. Participants who will require visa on arrival will be responsible for their visa fees.

RELEVANT INFORMATION

Other relevant information are:

  • The course will be conducted in French ONLY.
  • Maximum intake on the course is 15 participants.
  • Every participant will have to prove adequate health insurance coverage before travelling to the Centre. KAIPTC will not bear any health or accident costs for any participant.

HOW TO APPLY

Disaster Management Agencies of selected countries will select participants for the course. Selected participants will send to the Course Director their résumé/CV. For military candidate, also provide organization/duty location and position currently held. Along with the résumé/CV, participants should send the bio-data page of the nominee passport.

CONTACTS

Contact of the Course Director is as follows:

Lt Col Dela Klutse
Course Director
Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre
Tel +233-302-718200 – Ext 2038
Mobile +233 -262650279/+233-208725007
Email:
edemdela@yahoo.co.uk / dela.klutse@kaiptc.org