Faculty of Academic Affairs & Research

Faculty of Academic & Research (FAAR)

The Faculty of Academic Affairs and Research (FAAR) was established as the Conflict Prevention, Management and Resolution Department in 2004 as the research arm of the KAIPTC.

Initially, its focus was on research-based training courses on peacekeeping, and academic publications on issues affecting mandates of peacekeeping missions on the African continent.

In 2009, as the KAIPTC’s work and structure evolved the department adopted a project-based system and created Research and Thematic Programmes. In 2011, the department expanded to include academic programmes thereby becoming the first African peacekeeping training Centre to run postgraduate courses.

FAAR comprises:
  • Academic Affairs which runs and coordinates the academic programmes at the Centre on conflict, peace and security, gender, peace and security and international conflict management. It leads academic curriculum development and provides technical assistance on academic curricula and administration and teaching.
  • Research and Thematic Programmes which produces publications, develops training and academic courses, plans and manages projects and supports policy activities for African peace and security.

The department is headed by a Director. He is supported by a Deputy Director, who heads the Research and Thematic Programmes, and a Dean who heads Academic Affairs.

Meet our Directors, Programme Heads & Staff of the Registry;

Dr. Emmanuel Kwesi Aning

Director, Faculty of Academic and Research


Kwesi.Aning@kaiptc.org

Dr. Thomas Jaye

Director, KAIPTC Consultancy Unit


Thomas.Jaye@kaiptc.org

Dr. Emma Birikorang

Deputy Director, Faculty of Academic Affairs and Research


Emma.Birikorang @kaiptc.org

Prof. Kwaku Osei- Hwedie

Dean, Academic Affairs


Kwaku.Osei-Hwedie@kaiptc.org

Mr. John Pokoo

Head, Conflict Management Programme


John.Pokoo@kaiptc.org

Mr. Ernest Ansah Lartey

Head, Peace and Security Programme


Ernest.Lartey@kaiptc.org

Mr. Musah Fuseini Sanda

Assistant Registrar


Fuseini.SandaMusah @kaiptc.org

Mrs. Margaret Sosuh Akakpo

Academic Assistant Registrar


Margaret.Sosuh@kaiptc.org